Skip to main content
Hi, what can I do for you?

FSD

Enhancement of fire safety measures in old-style composite buildings, domestic buildings and commercial buildings/premises required by the Fire Services Department

Introduction

In the 1990s, several tragic fires broke out in Hong Kong, resulting in severe fatalities and injuries. These included the fires that occurred at (i) the Shek Kip Mei branch of the Hongkong Bank on 10.1.1994; (ii) Mei Foo Sun Chuen on 8.4.1997; (iii) Golden Court, North Point on 6.1.1998; and (iv) On Hing House, Kwun Tong on 4.2.1998. In view of this, the Fire Safety (Commercial Premises) Ordinance (Cap.502) and the Fire Safety (Buildings) Ordinance (Cap.572) were implemented in 1997 and 2007 respectively for enhancing fire safety of buildings.

 


The Fire Safety (Commercial Premises) Ordinance

The Fire Safety (Commercial Premises) Ordinance (Cap.502) was implemented on 2.5.1997. The purpose of the Ordinance is to provide better protection from the risk of fire for occupants and users of, and visitors to, certain kinds of commercial premises and commercial buildings. For the purpose of this Ordinance, the enforcement authorities are the Director of Fire Services and the Director of Buildings. The former is responsible for the provision of or improvement on fire service installations and equipment (FSI) in commercial premises or buildings, while the latter is responsible for the provision of fire safety measures in the planning, design and construction of such buildings. Please refer to the relevant pamphlet via the following link for key points of this Ordinance.
An Introduction to the Fire Safety (Commercial Premises) Ordinance

 

 

The Fire Safety (Buildings) Ordinance

The Fire Safety (Buildings) Ordinance (Cap.572) was put into implementation on 1.7.2007. For the purpose of this Ordinance, the enforcement authorities are the Director of Fire Services and the Director of Buildings. The former is responsible for the provision of or improvement on fire service installations or equipment (FSI) in composite buildings and domestic buildings, while the latter is responsible for the provision of fire safety measures in the planning, design and construction of such buildings. The purpose of the Ordinance is to ensure better protection from the risk of fire for occupants and users of, and visitors to composite buildings and domestic buildings that fall within the following criteria by requiring the owners and/or occupiers concerned to implement fire protection measures up to modern standards through the issuance of Fire Safety Directions:

1. With its plans of the building works first submitted to the Building Authority for approval on or before 1 March 1987; or
2. Constructed on or before 1 March 1987 where no plans of the building works were submitted on or before that date to the Building Authority for approval.

Please refer to the relevant pamphlet via the following link for key points of this Ordinance.
An introduction to the Fire Safety (Buildings) Ordinance

To facilitate better public understanding of this Department’s implementation of the fire safety requirements as stipulated in the said Ordinance, the Department has compiled a “Guidebook for the Compliance of Fire Safety Directions Issued by the Fire Services Department”, which lists out the FSI requirements for buildings of different heights, potential problems encountered by owners, cases of compliance through the flexible and pragmatic approaches adopted by the Department and the introduction of the Integrated Building Rehabilitation Assistance Scheme. Please visit the following link for details.
Guidebook for the Compliance of Fire Safety Directions

We understand that owing to structural or spatial constraints for certain buildings, some building owners may encounter difficulties in complying with the requirement, including the installation of water tank for the fire hydrant/hose reel system.  For the purpose of facilitating building owners to comply with Fire Safety Directions, the Department had provided different relaxation measures to buildings of different height as following:
 
Phase I: Improvised Hose Reel System (direct-feed type) for target composite buildings of 3-storeys of below.
FSD Circular Letter No. 2/2016

Phase II: Revised Supply Tank Requirement for Hose Reel System, allowing target buildings of six storeys or below or less than 20 metres in height, to reduce the effective supply tank capacity of the hose reel system from 2000L to 500L - 1500L.
FSD Circular Letter No. 5/2016 

Phase III Part I: Reduced supply tank capacity requirement for fire hydrant/hose reel system.  Target buildings of seven storeys or above are only required to provide a fire service supply tank of 4,500L. 
Phase III Part II: Pilot scheme on the incorporation of the fresh water supply system into the fire hydrant/hose reel system.
FSD Circular Letter No. 3/2017 

 


Supplementary Information

To facilitate owners and occupiers to obtain information of contractors qualified for carrying out fire safety improvement works, the Department has uploaded onto its website for public information all registered fire service installation contractors (RFSICs) in the territory, with a dedicated list of those RFSICs who have indicated their intention to undertake fire safety improvement works under the Ordinances. The Department has also compiled the “Checklist for Major Defects of FSI Drawings Submission under Cap. 502/Cap. 572” and “Processing of FSI Drawings under Cap. 502/Cap. 572” to assist owners in complying with Fire Safety Directions/Fire Safety Improvement Directions. Please visit the following links for details.
“List of Registered Fire Service Installation Contractors Interested in Undertaking Fire Safety Improvement Works as Required by Law” 」
 “Checklist for Major Defects of FSI Drawings Submission under Cap. 502/Cap. 572” 」
“Processing of FSI Drawings under Cap. 502/Cap. 572” 」

 

For enquiries, please contact staff of the Fire Services Department at 2272 9112.

跳至主内容
我有什么可以帮到你?

FSD

消防处为旧式综合用途建筑物、住用建筑物、商业建筑物/处所提高消防安全的措施

引言

九十年代,香港先后发生多宗大型火灾,引致多人伤亡,当中包括(i)1994年1月10日的石硖尾滙丰银行火警;(ii)1997年4月8日的美孚新邨火警;(iii)1998年1月6日的北角金殿大厦火警及(iv)1998年2月4日的观塘安兴大厦火警。有鉴於此,香港法例第502章《消防安全(商业处所)条例》及第572章《消防安全(建筑物)条例》分别在1997年及2007年实施,藉以提高楼宇的消防安全。


《消防安全(商业处所)条例》

《消防安全(商业处所)条例》(第502章)於1997年5月2日实施。本条例的目的是向某些种类的商业处所及商业建筑物的占用人、使用人及访客提供更佳的防火保障。消防处处长及屋宇署署长为本条例的执行当局,前者负责为商业处所/建筑物提供或改善消防装置及设备;后者则就该等建筑物的规划、设计和建造提供消防安全措施。如欲了解本条例的内容要点,请透过以下连结查阅有关的小册子。
消防安全(商业处所)条例简介

 

《消防安全(建筑物)条例》

《消防安全(建筑物)条例》(第572章)於2007年7月1日实施。消防处处长及屋宇署署长为本条例的执行当局,前者负责为综合用途建筑物及住用建筑物提供或改善消防装置及设备;后者则就该等建筑物的规划、设计和建造提供消防安全措施。本条例旨在透过向符合下述准则的综合用途建筑物及住用建筑物的业主及/或占用人发出消防安全指示,要求他们提供符合现代消防安全水平的防火措施,从而为有关建筑物的占用人、使用人和访客提供更佳的防火保障。

1. 在1987年3月1日或之前,首次呈交建筑工程图则予建筑事务监督审批的综合用途或住用建筑物;或
2. 即使该建筑物的建筑工程图则在1987年3月l日前尚未呈交予建筑事务监督审批,如该建筑物在1987年3月l日或之前落成,亦受本条例监管。        

如欲了解本条例的内容要点,请透过以下连结查阅有关的小册子。
消防安全 (建筑物)条例简介

为方便市民了解本处如何执行上述条例订明的消防安全规定,本处制作了《遵办消防处消防安全指示的实务指南》,当中载列有关不同楼高建筑物的消防装置及设备要求、业主可能面对的困难、本处采取灵活务实的解决方案令有关人士遵办指示的个案,以及「楼宇复修综合支援计划」的简介。有关详情请浏览以下网址:
遵办消防安全指示的实务指南

本处理解个别大厦或受建筑结构或空间所限,部分业主遵办规定时或会遇到困难,包括为消防栓/喉辘系统安装水缸等规定。为协助业主遵办消防安全指示,本处就不同楼高的目标楼宇推出相应措施:
 
第一阶段 - 折衷式喉辘系统,楼高3层或以下目标楼宇由街喉直接输水供消防喉辘系统使用。
消防处通函编号2/2016

第二阶段 - 喉辘系统的修订供水缸要求,楼高不超过6层(或低於20米)的目标楼宇,修订消防喉辘系统所需水缸容量,由原本的2000公升,降低至500公升到1500公升不等。
消防处通函编号5/2016

第三阶段第一部分 - 减低消防栓/喉辘系统供水缸容量要求,楼高7层或以上的目标楼宇的消防栓/喉辘系统所需水缸容量划一修订为4500公升。
第三阶段第二部分 - 推行将食水供应系统与消防栓/喉辘系统合并的先导计画。
消防处通函编号3/2017


附加资料

为了让业主和占用人更容易获得合资格进行消防安全改善工程的承办商的资料,消防处已将全港所有注册消防装置承办商的资料上载部门网页,亦特别列出当中已向消防处表示有意承办《条例》下的消防安全改善工程的承办商的名单,供公众参阅。为协助业主遵办有关的消防安全指示/改善消防安全指示,本处亦制作了「根据香港法例第502及572章消防装置图则审批核对表」及「根据香港法例第502及572章审批消防装置图则流程表」。有关详情请浏览以下网址:

有意承办法例所规定改善消防安全工程的注册消防装置承办商名单
根据香港法例第502及572章消防装置图则审批核对表
根据香港法例第502及572章审批消防装置图则流程表

 
如有任何查询,请致电2272 9112与消防处人员联络。