Skip to main content
Hi, what can I do for you?

A flat is an asset of its owner. The Common Law stipulates the responsibility of owners to carry out maintenance works for their buildings. As the proverb goes, ‘prevention is better than cure’. The Government and the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) attach great importance to building rehabilitation works, with owners encouraged to nip predicaments in the bud by carrying out early and regular ‘inspection’ and arrange for ‘preventive maintenance’ to maintain their buildings and facilities in good condition. A ‘maintenance cycle’ for the building is also recommended to keep track of the maintenance works for future reference and follow-up.

 

According to British-Adopted European Standard BS EN 13306:2017 (Maintenance – Maintenance Terminology), ‘preventive maintenance’ is intended to assess and reduce the probability of failure or the degradation of the functioning of an item (building element). As opposed to the ‘corrective maintenance’ which targets detected faults, ‘preventive maintenance’ is one of the strategies to prevent failure in building elements, facilities and systems by means of regular and appropriate inspections and repair initiatives.

 

At present, maintenance works of buildings in old districts in Hong Kong are largely corrective in nature, where actions are often deferred to the point that owners are obliged to do as stipulated in the repair order issued by the Building Authority (BA) pursuant to the prescribed repairs in respect of their buildings. When building maintenance is neglected, a ‘vicious cycle’ occurs in that, as the condition of the building spirals down, the scope of maintenance and its cost increase beyond affordability, thus the willingness of owners to bear the responsibility further dampened.

 

To formulate long-term and visionary strategies and execution plans for building rehabilitation, the URA is conducting the Building Rehabilitation Strategy (BRS) study to gauge the conditions of different types of buildings at different stages of the ‘life cycle’. The BRS study will also review relevant laws and regulations on ‘preventive maintenance’ to propose supportive intervention to help owners cope with difficulties in relation to building maintenance works, as well as recommend best practices on ‘preventive maintenance’ while reviewing the roles of stakeholders in long-term building rehabilitation strategies, all done with reference to relevant policies, strategies and regulatory frameworks of other countries and regions.

跳至主内容
我有什么可以帮到你?

楼宇单位是业主的资产,业主有责任做好其楼宇维修保养。所谓「预防胜於治疗」。政府及市建局一向重视楼宇复修工作,亦鼓励业主「防患於未然」,应及早/定期为楼宇「验身」,进行「预防性维修保养」,以保持楼宇及设施的良好状况,同时应为楼宇制定「维修保养周期计划」,并妥善保存有关维修保养的记录以便日后参考及跟进。

 

按英国/欧洲标准 BS EN 13306:2017(维修保养-维修保养专门用语)的定义,进行预防性维修保养是为著评估和/或减慢部件(楼宇构件)的状况恶化及减低其故障损毁的可能。有别於「见烂补烂」的「矫正性维修保养」,预防性维修保养是在楼宇构件、设施或系统出现毛病前,以定期及合适的巡查勘测和维修行动作为保养的其中一项策略。
 

现时本港旧区楼宇的维修保养,属矫正性居多,特别是於楼宇出现明显破损,在建筑事务监督发出修葺命令后,业主才「临急抱佛脚」启动筹备的延误性矫正维修保养。如果业主忽略处理楼宇保养问题,在日久失修问题愈趋严重的情况下,业主长远未必负担得起愈趋庞大的维修费用,这便形成「恶性循环」,业主更不愿意承担楼宇复修的责任。

 

为了制订一套长远而具前瞻性的楼宇复修策略和执行方案,市建局现正进行「楼宇复修策略」研究,对全港性不同类别的楼宇状况进行调查,全面去分析和评估这些楼宇的状况,当中涵盖了楼宇各阶段的「生命周期」。「楼宇复修策略」研究亦会检讨在预防性楼宇维修保养方面的相关法例及规管,并建议措施协助业主应付在楼宇维修工程中所遇到的困难,亦会参考其他国家或地区在楼宇复修方面的政策、策略及规管框架,也会就预防性维修保养建议最佳的作业方式,以及检讨不同持份者在长远楼宇复修策略上的角色。