Skip to main content
Hi, what can I do for you?

Timely and regular maintenance of old buildings is essential in that its negligence, informed by owners’ poor awareness of the matter, may aggravate the ageing and dilapidation of the buildings, causing serious or even fatal accidents.

 

A building is comprised of multiple elements with individual functions. For example, structural elements (including foundation, beams and columns) support the weight of the building structure and its load; whereas drainage system channels water and sewage away to avoid accumulation. These functional elements work in concert in that one single defect often leads to a domino effect too big to ignore.

 

In fact, early identification of a large portion of 'common building defects' is possible through apparent or detectable symptoms of dilapidation. Failing to address these symptoms may give rise to serious life-threatening issues in the future, causing system failure or collapse of structure in the worst cases, and increase in maintenance costs in general.

 

Building elements are regulated by different government departments by category. Generally speaking, all building components are under the supervision of the Buildings Department, while the regulation of other building services fall in the hands of various professional authorities, e.g. the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) for electrical and gas installations by, and the Fire Services Department (FSD) for fire service installations and equipment. If a building is in a disrepair state or causing any nuisance that poses a threat to public safety or health, the relevant departments will, under their legal authority, issue ‘statutory order’ demanding follow-up or rectification of the defects of relevant building elements to the owners/Owners’ Corporations (OCs) concerned. Failure to comply with the prescribed requirements within the designated period and without reasonable excuse may result in legal action against the owners/OCs.

跳至主内容
我有什么可以帮到你?

不少旧楼业主对楼宇维修保养方面的意识较薄弱,因而忽略定期维修保养的重要性,楼宇在缺乏适时和持续的维修保养情况下,加快其老化及失修损毁的速度,最终可能会造成严重或致命的意外,绝对不容忽视。

 

一幢楼宇由多个楼宇构件组成,每个构件都有著不同的功用。例如:结构构件( 包括地基、梁及柱)用以承受楼宇本身及负载的重量;而排水系统则用以带走多余的雨水及污水,避免积聚。虽然,每个构件功能上「各司其职」,却又环环相扣。一个构件的损毁,往往波及其他构件,绝对不容忽视。

 

其实「常见楼宇问题」普遍都可以在损毁初期透过明显可见或可侦测到的症状及早发现。若未能适时正视及以妥善方法处理,不单可能导致楼宇日后出现严重的问题,引发故障或突然倒塌,对生命构成威胁,更可能令日后所需的维修费用提高。

 

不同政府部门会按分类监管所属楼宇构件。一般而言,屋宇署负责监管所有建筑构件,其他的屋宇装备则由各专业部门负责。例如:机电工程署管辖各类电力及气体装置;消防处管辖各类消防装置及设备。若楼宇的损毁或有关的滋扰危及公众安全或健康,相关部门会按法例赋予的权力,就楼宇构件的欠妥情况向业主或法团发出「法定命令」,要求跟进或修正。如业主或法团未能在指定限期内完成相关要求而又没有合理辩解,则可能被检控。