Skip to main content
Hi, what can I do for you?

Department:Buildings Department

One of the key duties of the BD is to supervise safety of buildings and enforce provisions of the Buildings Ordinance (Cap. 123 of the Legislation of Hong Kong) by issuing statutory orders/notices to owners neglecting proper maintenance of their buildings decreeing that defective parts be repaired by the owners or suspected defects be inspected by an registered professional and a subsequent assessment report with recommended remedies be submitted. Common defects include structural disrepair, leakage of drainage pipes, unauthorised building works (UBW) and dangerous retaining walls.

On Dangerous/Defective Buildings (Section 26/26A)

As regards any building that have become dangerous, whether due to external causes, fair wear and tear or prolonged disrepair, the Building Authority (BD) may issue a statutory order (commonly known as ‘repair order’) to owners of the building decreeing that appropriate remedies (Section 26 (1) and (2)) be implemented in respect of the actual circumstances and legal requirements, for example repair works, and erection of supporting pillars or balustrades.

 

If the condition of the building is deemed as unsatisfactory but not dangerous, BD may nonetheless issue a statutory order (commonly known as ‘inspection order’) directing owners of the building to engage an Authorised Person for inspection on the prescribed parts of the building with suggested remedial works tabled for approval by BD to be carried out (Section 26A (1) and (2)). In addition to inspection of the entire building, canopies and balcony structures are both common prescribed parts.
 

BD may issue an Investigation Order requiring the appointment of an Authorized Person (AP) to carry out an investigation on the structural conditions and defects of a building or its drainage system.

 

On Drainage (Section 28)

Drains or sewers of buildings are also under the supervision of the Building Authority (the BD). When the drainage system of a building is deemed insufficient or is found to be in a defective or insanitary condition, BD will issue a relevant statutory order to the owners concerned decreeing that the prescribed drainage works to be done. Owners may be required to appoint an Authorised Person for inspection on the drains or sewers of the building with suggested remedial works tabled for BD’s approval for their execution (Section 28 (3)).
 

On Unauthorised Building Works (UBW) (Section 24)

All building works at private buildings (excluding public housing), regardless if they concern additional or renovated structures, should only be carried out with the approval obtained from the Building Authority (i.e. the BD). Such procedure is commonly known as ‘submission of building plans’. All building works, except minor works in compliance with simplified requirements (abbr. minor works) and exempted works, carried out without prior approval by the BD will be deemed ‘unauthorised building works’ (abbr. UBW). Common UBWs include rooftop structures, enclosed balconies and removal of protected lobbies.

 

The BD will issue a statutory order (commonly known as ‘removal order’) to owners concerned decreeing the removal or rectification of UBWs to be done in compliance with provisions of applicable ordinances (Section 24 (1)), such as the removal of rooftop structures or restoration of protected lobbies. If the prescribed removal or rectification works are not of a substantial scale or do not involve complex structures, they may be carried out in compliance with regulations of minor works by qualified contractors engaged by the owners; otherwise, they must be carried out under the supervision of qualified building professionals.
 

On Mandatory Building Inspection Scheme (MBIS) and Mandatory Window Inspection Scheme (MWIS)

(Sections 30B and 30C)

Pursuant to the MBIS, a statutory notice (commonly known as ‘mandatory building inspection notice’) will be served on owners of private buildings aged 30 years or above (except domestic buildings not exceeding 3 storeys) by the Building Authority (i.e. the BD) requiring the inspection of common parts, external walls and projections or signboards conducted by a registered inspector, who shall also undertake the supervision of prescribed repair works carried out in accordance with the inspection report (Section 30B (3)).

 

The scope of prescribed inspection (and repair works) include: structural components (e.g. beams), fire safety components (e.g. fire rated doors), drainage system (e.g. pipes) and identification of existing UBWs.

 

Meanwhile, the MWIS targets private buildings aged 10 years or above (except residential buildings not exceeding 3 storeys), where owners who have received the statutory notice (commonly known as ‘mandatory window inspection notice’) shall engage a qualified person for the prescribed inspection of all windows of the building. Any prescribed repair works deemed necessary shall be carried out by a registered contractor engaged by the owners under the supervision of the qualified person (Section 30C (3)).

 

Upon compliance with the mandatory window inspection notice, notice in respect of the same windows will not be served in 5 years from the issue date of the original order.
 

On dangerous hillside (Section 27A)

With regards to any slope or retaining wall on private land whose condition is deemed unsatisfactory or liable to the risk of overall or partial collapse with danger of causing injury to persons or damage to property, the Building Authority (i.e. the BD) may issue orders in writing to the persons responsible for such land (the owners in general circumstances) decreeing designated reinforcement or remedial works to be done; or, if need be, prescribing the appointment of one or more Authorised Persons, registered structural engineers or registered geotechnical engineers for relevant inspection and implementation of appropriate works in accordance with the inspection results and proposal approved (Section 27A (1) and (2)).

Department:Buildings Department & Fire Services Department

The purpose of the Ordinance is to administer the improvement of existing fire safety measures in old buildings with potential risks in fire safety design with a view to protecting owners, occupants and visitors therein.

 

Fire safety measures covered by the Ordinance involve ‘fire safety provisions’ and ‘fire service installations and equipment’, whose enforcement falls within the responsibility of the Director of Buildings and the Director of Fire Services respectively. Under general circumstances, ‘Fire Safety Direction’ will be jointly issued by the BD and the FSD to owners or occupants of target buildings prescribing improvement requirements for fire safety measures to facilitate the relevant works to be done.

 

Fire Safety Provisions

The function of fire safety provision (also known as fire resistance construction) is to safeguard means of escape in case of fire while preventing its spread, thus ensuring sufficient time for safe evacuation and minimising loss of property. Common improvement works for fire resistance construction in compliance with requirements of the Ordinance include:

 

  1. Fire rated door

Performance requirements stipulated for the design of fire rated doors were loose in the past due to the misconception that doors made with solid wood offer sufficient fire resistance. In view of the substantial improvement in the fire resisting performance of new generation fire rate doors, the following requirements on newly installed fire doors are stipulated as follows:

 

•    Solid timber construction or in accordance with the construction specified in the test report.
•    Firmly implanted to the surrounding walls without any visible gaps.
•    Installed with door closer.
•    Intumescent strips installed on the door leaf/frame (applicable to solid wooden doors in general).
 

  1. Fixed light

In the past, the materials and design of windows along escape routes were not regulated. While aluminium and/or movable windows are the common choice for replacement, they cannot protect means of escape from fire and smoke. To ensure safe means of escape, BD demands owners of old buildings to replace windows that are not fire-resistant. The general requirements are as follows: 

 

•    Fixed window structures (cannot be left opened at will);
•    Stainless steel or galvanised carbon steel window frames; and
•    Fire-resistant window glasses.
 

  1. Enclosures to non-emergency services 

In old buildings, non-emergency service facilities such as electrical wires, electricity meters and telecommunication facilities are often roughly fixed along staircases and corridors, which form the only escape route. In case of fire, these non-emergency service facilities may facilitate the spread of fire towards the escape route, thus posing a threat to persons in evacuation.

 

Since the addition of engine rooms and cable troughs to old buildings is not possible the Ordinance stipulates that owners shall enclose non-emergency service facilities along the escape route with fire-resistant materials to enhance the protection of occupants and users of these buildings. The general requirements for the installation of additional enclosures are as follows:

 

•    The escape route must have a minimum clearance of 2 metres in width and a height after enclosure.
•    The enclosures for non-emergency electrical installations/electricity facilities must be installed in compliance with the Electricity Ordinance

      and Supply Rules of power companies.

 

Upon completion of the applicable improvement works, the owners should inform BD for inspection and submit copies of certificates/test reports/assessment reports on the relevant materials for compliance verification.
 

Fire Service Installations & Equipment

The majority of old buildings had no fire service installations or equipment installed at the time of their construction. As such, it is not uncommon for small fire to build up into a much greater conflagration with no means for its early extinguishment; or in the case where electricity supply is suspended due to a fire, for chaos to occur with no backup lighting system and emergency escape instructions for evacuation. To minimise such risks, the FSD will issue ‘Fire Safety Directions’ to owners/occupants of the target buildings prescribing the enhancement or addition of fire service installations or equipment. The common items involved include:

 

•  Fire hydrant and hose reel system

•  Manual fire alarm

•  Emergency lighting

•  Automatic sprinkler system
•  Automatic cut-off device for mechanical ventilation system
•  Portable fire extinguisher

 

OCs/owners/occupiers should appoint Registered Fire Service Installation (FSI) Contractors to carry out the improvement works relating to fire service installations.

Department:Water Supplies Department

Notices may be served to registered consumers of inside services or fire services or to agents of communal services under Section 16 of Waterworks Ordinance (Cap 102) in the following situations:


•  unauthorized alteration of waterworks;
•  waste or pollution of a supply or there being such a risk; or
•  non-compliance of inside services or fire services under the provisions of the Waterworks Ordinance.

Department:Environmental Protection Department (EPD)

Notice may be served by EPD under Section 3 of Water Pollution Control (Sewerage) Regulation (Cap 358AL) to enable connection to public sewage system.

Department:Environmental Protection Department (EPD)

Notice may be served by EPD under Section 10 of Air Pollution Control Ordinance (Cap 311) in respect of emission of air pollutants which may cause deposit of dust/grit or objectionable odour or have adverse health effect, etc.

Department:Environmental Protection Department (EPD)

Notice may be served by EPD under Section 13 of the Noise Control Ordinance (Cap 400) requiring the owner, tenant, occupier or person in charge of the common facilities or commercial/industrial flats of a building to bring his noise emissions into a state of compliance by certain date.

Department:Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD)

Notice may be served under the Electricity Ordinance (Cap 406) for lack of repair, maintenance and test and to request an owner to rectify any problem associated with an electrical installation in a building so as to ensure electrical safety.

Department:Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD)

EMSD may serve an improvement notice under the Gas Safety Ordinance (Cap 51) to remedy any contravention of the Ordinance so as to ensure gas safety. The contravention may be due to lack of repair, maintenance or testing of piped or cylinder gas installations.

Department:Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD)

Notice may be served under the Lifts and Escalators Ordinance (Cap 618) for the lift and escalator installations of building not complying with the Regulations. The objective is to ensure the lifts and escalators meet safety standards.

Department:Food & Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD)

Notice may be served under the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap 132) for the abatement of sanitary nuisance arising from water seepage in private premises.

跳至主內容
我有什麼可以幫到你?

執法部門:屋宇署

署主要監管樓宇的建築安全,透過《建築物條例》(香港法例第123章)進行執法工作,向未有妥善保養樓宇的業主發出法定命令,指示業主按要求修復欠妥部分,或聘請合資格人員就懷疑欠妥部分進行勘察,並提交評估及建議措施。常見的欠妥情況包括:結構失修、排水渠滲漏、違例建築及危險檔土牆等。

關於危險/欠妥建築物 (第 26 / 26A 條)

任何樓宇,無論由外在原因、自然耗損或日久失修引致而變得危險,建築事務監督都可向該樓宇業主發出法定命令 (俗稱:修葺令),飭令業主須按實際情況及法例要求進行合適的補救措施 (第 26條(1)及(2))。例如:進行修葺、豎設撑柱及設置圍欄。

 

若樓宇的狀況不至於危險,但未如理想,屋宇署仍可向該樓宇業主發出法定命令 (俗稱:勘察令),指令業主委任一名認可人士為其樓宇進行指明的勘測及向屋宇署提交補救工程的建議,並按屋宇署批准的建議進行補救工程 (第 26A條(1)及(2))。除整棟樓宇的勘測外,簷蓬及露台結構都是常見的指明部分。

 

關於排水 (第 28 條)

樓宇的排水渠或污水渠亦屬建築事務監督的管轄,若發現樓宇的排水系統不足夠或處於欠妥或不衞生的情況,屋宇署便會向業主發出法定命令,要求進行指明的排水工程。在有需要時,會同時要求業主先委任一名認可人士為樓宇的排水渠或污水渠進行勘測,並提交補救建議及在批准後進行有關補救工程 (第 28條(3))。

 

關於違例建築工程 (第24條)

所有私人樓宇 (不包括公營房屋) 的建築工程,無論是新建或改建,都必須先獲建築事務監督批准,始能展開。此審批程序一般稱為「入則」。因此,除根據簡化規定展開的小型工程 (簡稱:小型工程) 及豁免工程外,所有未經屋宇署事先批准便進行的建築工程,均視作違例建築工程 (俗稱:僭建)。常見的僭建工程包括:天台搭建物、密封露台及拆除防護門廊。 

 

屋宇署會向業主發出法定命令 (俗稱:清拆令),要求按適用條例規定清拆或糾正僭建 (第 24條(1))。例如:清拆天台搭建物及還原防護門廊。如有關清拆或糾正工程未有涉及龐大規模或複雜結構,業主可聘請合資格承辦商按小型工程規定處理,否則必須在合資格建築專業人士監督下進行有關工程。

 

關於強制驗樓及強制驗窗計劃 (第30B及30C條)

根據強制驗樓計劃,建築事務監督會向樓齡達 30年或以上的私人樓宇 (不超過3層高的住用樓宇除外) 的業主送達法定通知 (俗稱:強制驗樓令),要求聘任一名註冊檢驗人員就樓宇的公用部分、外牆及伸出物或招牌進行訂明檢驗,並監督按檢驗報告中提及的訂明修葺工程 (第 30B條(3))。訂明檢驗 (修葺) 的範圍包括:結構構件 (例如:樑柱)、消防安全構件 (例如:防煙門)、排水系統 (例如:渠管) 及指出現有僭建物。

 

強制驗窗計劃則針對樓齡達 10年或以上的私人樓宇 (不超過3層高的住用樓宇除外)。接獲法定通知 (俗稱:強制驗窗令) 的業主,須聘任一名合資格人士就樓宇的所有窗戶進行訂明檢驗。如窗戶需進行訂明修葺,業主更須聘任一名註冊承建商,及在合資格人士的監督下進行(第 30C條(3))。在履行強制驗窗令後,業主不會在該命令的發出日期5年內,就相同窗戶收到新的強制驗窗令。

 

關於危險山坡或擋土牆 (第27A條)

任何位於私人土地的山坡或擋土牆,如其狀況未如理想,甚至出現整體或局部坍塌的風險,而危及公眾生命安全及財產損毀。建築事務監督都可向該土地負責人 (一般為業主) 發出書面命令,要求土地負責人進行指定的加固或補救工程。或在有需要時,要求聘任認可人士、註冊結構工程師或註冊岩土工程師 (一名或多名) 進行相關勘測,並按勘測結果及獲批准的建議進行適當的工程 (第 27A條(1)及(2))。

執法部門:屋宇署、消防處

條例訂立的目的,是針對在消防安全設計方面存在風險的舊式樓宇,要求改善樓宇的現有消防安全措施,以保障業主、住戶及訪客的安全。條例涉及有關消防安全措施包括「消防安全設施」及「消防裝置或設備」兩部分,分別由屋宇署署長及消防處處長負責執行。在一般情況下,屋宇署及消防處會同時向目標大廈業主或佔用人發出「消防安全指示」,列明消防安全措施的改善要求,以便統籌相關工程。

 

消防安全設施

消防安全設施,又稱耐火結構,作用是在發生火警時,保護逃生途徑及阻止火勢蔓延。確保樓宇使用者有足夠時間,安全地途離災場,減少財產損失。按條例要求,常見耐火結構改善工程包括:

 

  1. 防火門

舊有消防安全設計對防火門的要求並不嚴謹,一般認為實木門便能提供足夠的耐火效能。時至今日,防火門的設計效能已大大提升。因此,經適切考量,新安裝的防火門一般應符合以下規定:

 

•  以實心木材製造,或符合測試報告指定的建造規定。

•  穩固地嵌固在周邊牆,沒有任何可見空隙。

•  設有關門器 (俗稱:門鼓)。

•  門扇/框裝有遇熱膨脹條(主要適用於實木門)。

 

  1. 固定窗

以往樓宇規格未有限制逃生途徑內窗戶的物料及設計。業主在更換窗戶時,通常都會選用鋁窗。但由於鋁窗未具防火效能,而常見的活動式窗戶亦未能在火警時阻隔濃煙湧入逃生途徑,阻礙疏散。因此,屋宇署會要求舊式樓宇業主更換不合耐火效能的窗戶,以保障逃生途徑安全。一般要求如下:

 

•  窗戶必須為固定設計 (不能隨意開啟)。

•  窗框物料須為不銹鋼或鍍鋅軟鋼。

•  窗戶玻璃須具防火效能。

 

  1. 非緊急設施圍封物

舊式樓宇的非緊急設施 (例如:電線、電錶及電訊設備) 通常都是簡單固定在樓梯及走廊,但該樓梯及走廊往往同時是樓宇的唯一逃生途徑。當火警發生,這些非緊急設施或會使火勢加速蔓延至逃生途徑,為逃生人士帶來風險。

 

由於在舊式樓宇加建機房及線糟並不可行,因此條例要求業主採取折衷措施,以具耐火效能的物料圍封處於逃生途徑的非緊急設施,加強對樓宇使用者的保障。加裝圍封物的一般要求如下:

 

•  圍封後的逃生途徑應保持最小闊度及2米淨空高度。

•  如非緊急設施為電力裝置/電力設備,有關圍封物應符合《電力條例》及電力公司的《供電則例》規定。

 

在完成上述適用的改善工程後,業主應通知屋宇署安排視察,及提供有關物料的證明書/測試報告/評估報告的副本,以確定指示是否已獲遵從。

 

消防裝置或設備

絕大部分的舊式樓宇,於建造時都未有安裝消防裝置或設備,因此當發生輕微火警時,樓宇使用者往往未能及時撲滅,引發嚴重火災;或當火警導致電力暫停,逃生途徑又未有安裝後備照明系統及緊急逃生指示,造成混亂,影響疏散。為減低風險,消防處會向目標大廈業主或佔用人發出「消防安全指示」,指令要求提升或加裝消防裝置或設備。常見項目有:

 

•  消防栓及喉轆系統

•  手控火警警報系統

•  緊急照明

•  自動噴灑系統 (適用於非住用部分)

•  機械通風系統的自動中斷操作裝置

•  手提式滅火器

 

擁有人或佔用人必須委聘註冊消防裝置承辦商進行消防裝置及設備的安裝或改善工程。

執法部門:水務署

水務署可在下列情況下,向消防供水系統或內部供水系統的註冊用戶或公用供水系統的代理人發出維修通知書:

 

•  未經授權而更改消防供水系統或內部供水系統;

•  已出現或相當可能導致浪費或污染供水;或

•  消防供水系統或內部供水系統未遵守《水務設施條例》的規定。

執法部門:環境保護署

環保署可發出有關強制性駁引污水排放至公用污水渠的通告。

執法部門:環境保護署

環保署可發出有關因排放空氣污染物可能造成灰塵 / 砂礫沉澱或產生難聞氣味或對健康造成不良影響等的通告。

執法部門:環境保護署

環保署可發出通告,要求樓宇的公共設施或工商業單位的業主、租戶、佔用人或掌管人不遲於某一日期將其所發出的噪音控制在合規格的級別。

執法部門:機電工程署

機電署可根據條例送達通告,要求業主/法團整改任何有關樓宇電力裝置的問題或為電力裝置安排進行檢查、測試和驗證,以確保電力安全。

執法部門:機電工程署

若發現有觸犯氣體安全條例的情況,機電署可根據條例送達敦促改善通知書,以確保氣體安全。觸犯《氣體安全條例》可由喉管或瓶裝氣體裝置因缺乏維修、保養或測試而引致。

執法部門:機電工程署

若樓宇的升降機及自動梯裝置不合規例,機電署可根據 條例送達通告,以確保升降機及自動梯達到安全標

執法部門:食物環境衛生

食環署可根據條例發出通告,以消除因私人樓宇漏水所造成的滋擾。